High heels…

September 11, 2010 at 3:39 pm 2 comments

Have you ever walked with high heels on a muddy road? That is the way this week has been. Difficult and messy.  My husband and I had the biggest fight that we have ever been in, I said goodbye to a very dear Aunt, and held the hand of a close friend while she experienced the very sudden loss of her friend.

 This week has given me some very hefty reminders that stress is all around us. How we deal with it is going to depend upon how we have educated ourselves and our beliefs. For me personally, I love the Lord. That is how I cope, not perfectly though.  When we are aware of what we are going through, we know a little better of how to deal with it. Letting ourselves experience feelings that come with life changing events instead of bucking them is a good way to start. This week has brought up some things I don’t normally think about. Have you ever experienced a life threatening, emergency situation? I have, and thankfully had just completed CPR classes a few weeks before it happened. Sure, I freaked out first because it was my 1-year-old son(at the time)…But then my training kicked in and I knew, that I knew, what to do. Which made all the difference in the world! I should go back and be re-certified just to refresh myself. If you haven’t been certified, please do it now! Most hospitals offer these classes. Call a fireman if you don’t know where to go in your town. I don’t think my son would be here today if it weren’t for that training.

The  next thing this week has brought up for me is funeral costs… I know, I may seem morbid to some but we plan for big expenses…why don’t more of us plan for our deaths? It will happen. Why don’t we prepare a little. Life insurance is helpful, but not a stopping point. I have seen far too many times where people have no idea what they are dealing with and, in grief, walk into funeral parlors and walk out with a 5k$ bill or much higher. The people who work at these funeral parlors are salesman, plain and simple. They are there to sell you stuff. Educate yourself. Shop around before you’re in that unaware grief state from the loss of a loved one. I have been talking to people, reading, and researching the internet to find out as much as I can. A good site is www.funerals.org and if you live in Central Ohio http://www.funeralsohio.org/ . We will all deal with the death of a loved one at some point. Educate yourself today.

Another tip this week is to get counseling. Don’t be afraid to talk to someone, we all need it. Not only should we surround ourselves with loving friends and family but sometimes we need a little more. Don’t be afraid to reach out for help. If money is an issue, churches usually have someone. A pastor or clergy can be helpful. There are many counselers that will work on a sliding base fee. Look around, find someone.

Surround yourself with things you love…that make you smile. For me, it’s the outdoors. I went hiking this week and noticed that the green was being choked out by hues of browns and golds. I couldn’t contain a smile if I wanted to. Just as chaos and stress is all around us, so is the love of our creator.

Entry filed under: advice, family, frugal, living frugal. Tags: , , , , , .

Finally, my first post! The Holidays are coming…the holidays are coming

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Elaine Miller  |  October 23, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    Amy,

    This blog is fantastic! You are a great writer, and, you have wonderful ideas. I will try to get on here often and will leave some ideas I have as well, OK?

    God bless you and your family!

    Elaine

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our Tweet’s

  • ¡Sácate una foto con el ticket de tu viaje de FIDGETERS y comparténosla en IG y Pinterest! ¡Ganarás un viaje! 2 years ago
  • ¡Hoy JUERNES para todos! ¡¡FELIZ PUENTE DE MAYO!! 2 years ago
  • ¿Mañana te vas de puente? ¡Haz una lista de las cosas que llevas en la maleta para no olvidarte de nada! #consejosFIDGETERS 2 years ago

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers


