Take the HANDMADE Pledge!!!

October 28, 2010 at 8:36 pm Leave a comment

I absolutely LOVE making things. I’m the kind of person that walks into a store and just won’t buy something because, I just know, I can make it with less money. sometimes that’s good, sometimes not so good. Whats funny is my kids have become the same way. They inspect something, look all over it and say “hey mom, I can make one of these”! My heart leaps when they do that. I know I have passed down my desire to be more self sufficient. 

I also love books, ok…It’s an addiction, I admit it! “Hello, my name is Amy and the last time I read a book was 20 minutes ago”. Thank goodness there isn’t such a group! Book stores are like crack dealers for me… “I must stay on budget, I must stay on budget” becomes my mantra when I walk through the doors.  What does my love of books and making things have to do with one another you ask? Well… not only do I make most, if not all of, of the gifts that we give over Christmas. I also have plenty of resources to get ideas. So coming in November I’m going to start “Toot Tuesdays”.  I’ll put up a tutorial on how to make one of the gifts that I’ll be giving this year. I may even have a contest to win one if time allows. I’ve taken the “Handmade Pledge” will you? Work your way up…If you can’t make everything, or buy all handmade then set a goal of 50% handmade. You will be happy with the results, and you will be helping to support us and not China! Not to mention the mulla you will save. A good site to start if you want to buy handmade is etsy.com

Entry filed under: living frugal. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

The Holidays are coming…the holidays are coming Homemade Vanilla Extract *Toot Tuesday*

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our Tweet’s

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers


