*TOOT Tuesday* Invisable bookshelf & My favorite, Lofthouse Cookies

November 9, 2010 at 4:08 pm Leave a comment

I don’t know about you but I love, love those crazy Lofthouse Cookies that are so stinking expensive…I think they average around $4.00 per dozen. I have looked all over the internet for a recipe that even comes close and have wasted many baking hours only to be disappointed with the results. Well, not anymore! Here they are and I hope that you will love making them just as much as I do for the holidays…They will surely be a hit with everyone!

Ingredients

2 cups Jiffy baking mix
2/3 cup white sugar
1/3 cup milk
5 tbsp Crisco Shortening(I use butter flavored)
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees…Grease baking sheet. Mix all ingredients and spoon onto pans.  Bake for 8-10 minutes and remove to cool. It’s that easy! Just be sure to use “jiffy” baking mix.

A really good frosting recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1 cup shortening (I use buttered flavored Crisco)
  • 4 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 4 tablespoons milk
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons almond extract

Combine all ingredients in a mixing bowl. Beat on low-speed of electric mixer until well blended and very smooth.  Smother on cookies, add sprinkles and watch everyone do their best turkey impression as they “gobble” them all up!

Invisible Bookshelf

I came across these nifty little things in a catalog and completely fell in “awe”. If you’re a book addict like myself then I’m sure you’ll completely understand. Do you fall asleep at night with a book, or two, or three? Are there piles of books that your currently reading somewhere in your house? I don’t know, maybe it’s my A.D.D. but I like to say it’s my love of learning something new that keeps me addicted. Anyway, we have little tables next to our bed but they hold the alarm clock and not much else…I really never have a place to put my books when I’m done. My kids seem to do the same thing, so this is on the list.

These little buggers are so easy peasy to make, I think I’ll make many!

Here is what you will need:

  Book
Good sized “L” Bracket
Carpet Knife
Pen
Small wood screws (of the flat-headed variety)
Large wood screws
Tape Measure or Ruler
Glue
A Stack of Books for Weight
Step 1: Measure the half way point, make a mark, set down your bracket, draw an outline, measure again, cut out a hole deep enough that the bracket will set flush. You are doing this to the back or bottom of the book, the part that will be visible in the finished product.

 

Step 2:

Use your knife to make a notch for the “L” bracket so the book can sit flush against the wall.

Step 3: place your small wood screws to secure the “L” bracket in place, and one on either side toward the edges of the book to secure the pages of the book together. Hanging the bracket over the edge of a desk, chair, or counter is helpful. The pages will try to rise up the screw as you insert it, so make sure you’re putting some pressure on them to keep them in line. If this part is not done correctly the end result will show the pages as wavy and will tip-off the viewer that something is amiss. The picture shows me using a cordless drill, but I found that doing it by hand was much more effective.

Step 4:

The glue will hold the bottom cover of the book in place, and the screws hold the pages together. 

 

Put the stack of books on top of the whole deal and wait overnight.

 

 

Yeah! Your all done and ready to use your new bookshelf! I’m putting one in each kids room and next to Doug and I on each side of our beds…maybe we won’t have such a book mess anymore? Altogether this cost about 3$, the fancy shmancy ones in the catalogs were over $20! What a savings!

Be sure to check back this week and next for the Toot Tuesday and Thrifty Thursday! I’m so excited about the things I’ve found for these days that I almost can’t contain myself!!!! Yes, I know, patience is a virtue….

Entry filed under: frugal, gift giving, handmade. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Handmade Dishwasher Detergent Powder *Thrifty Thursday* *Thrifty Thursday* Save some Nugget in your Budget

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Our Tweet’s

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers


